Health Care and my Uterus: How I came to be on the sides of Catholic Nuns over House Democrats

The front woman for "liberal journalism"

I’ll admit it. I have hated Maureen Dowd. There was one notorious day back in ‘09 when she decided the first lady’s bulging biceps were somehow NYTimes-Sunday-OpEd worthy; and I threw in the towel.

But she has redeemed herself with this Sunday’s to-the-chauvinistic-point OpEd about the Catholic churches and Bart Stupak’s dismissal of the voice of the Catholic nuns. (Read Dowd’s article here: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/21/opinion/21dowd.html?th&emc=th).

Quite simply she framed the plight of Catholic nuns as the same fight I am having for control of my uterus with Rep. Stupak. As Dowd says “For decades, the nuns did the bidding of the priests, cleaned up their messes, and watched as their male superiors let a perverted stain spread over the entire church, a stain that has now even reached the Holy See.” And now when they tried to give their much humbled and experience opinions, they are shushed by bishops and dismissed by Stupak at “knuckle wrapping” nuns.

In much the same way, I have watched Stupak and others debate the “abortion language” and decide whether or not my right to chose would be included in the sweeping health care reform. The voice of reason does not seem to matter on this one; the male house Democrats’ ears are closed to the simple fact that this debate is about health care not abortion; that my uterus has nothing to do with saving the lives of the uninsured.

The dust still has to clear on the health care reform but the debate on abortion will continue and the lines will be with drawn. But for one Sunday I can say I was on the side of Maureen Down and Catholic nuns everywhere.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Politics

Leave a Reply

